U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.


ShutterStock (see reuse policy).

Member Information

As designated by the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, the Council is comprised of 19 members. Nine ex officio members represent the following Federal agencies: the Departments of Justice, Education, Health and Human Services, Housing and Urban Development, Homeland Security/Immigration and Customs Enforcement, and Labor; the Office of National Drug Control Policy; the Corporation for National and Community Service; and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. In addition, ten members who are juvenile justice practitioners are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Senate Majority Leader, and the President of the United States.

Federal Agency Members

Ex Officio Members and Designees

U.S. Department of Justice Logo

U.S. Department of Justice
Attorney General of the United States

Federal Agency Affiliate Members and Designees

Practitioner Members

Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives

Adele P. Grubbs
Senior Superior Court Judge
Superior Court of Cobb County, Georgia

Pamela F. Rodriguez
TASC, Inc. (Treatment Alternatives for Safe Communities)

Appointed by the Majority Leader of the Senate  

Maura Corrigan
Butzel Long

Deborah Schumacher
Second Judicial District Court

William Thorne
Utah Court of Appeals

Appointed by the President of the United States

Jim St. Germain
Executive Director
Preparing Leaders of Tomorrow, Inc.

Jacob Horowitz
Public Safety Performance Project,
The Pew Charitable Trusts

Francisco Villarruel
University Outreach and Engagement Senior Fellow and Professor